English Language Arts

English courses at San Ysidro High School meet mandatory A-G graduation requirements and are dedicated to mastering the rhetorical approach, literary analysis and Common Core Assessment preparation.

In addition, SYH English Department will be administering grade level competencies to all 9th, 10th, and 11th grade students for the 2017-2018 academic school year. Students will be required to complete course work, pass the district assessments, and pass each grade level competency in order to earn a passing grade in the course

English Competency Policy

SYH English Department

  • English Curriculum Coach – Melissa Hernandez

 

ELA Department Contact List

English 9
Jennifer Althof  Co-teach Jennifer.althof@sweetwaterschools.org
Jennifer Mojica  Co-teach jennifer.mojica@sweetwaterschools.org
Michele Bowdan michele.bowdan@sweetwaterschools.org
Raul Banuet raul.banuet@sweetwaterschools.org
Sandra Monzon Accelerated  Sandra.monzon@sweetwaterschools.org
Jessica McKittrick Jessica.mckittrick@sweetwaterschools.org
English 10
Diana Cintron Co-teach Diana.cintron@sweetwaterschools.org
Melissa Hernandez  Co-teach Melissa.hernandez@sweetwaterschools.org
Vincent Ciolino  Accelerated Vincent.ciolino@sweetwaterschools.org
Joann Cornejo  Accelerated joann.cornejo@sweetwaterschools.org
Yessica Gomez Yessica.gomez@sweetwaterschools.org
Elaine Flores Elaine.Flores@sweetwaterschools.org
English 11
Diana Cintron Co-teach Diana.cintron@sweetwaterschools.org
Melissa Hernandez Co-teach Melissa.Hernandez@sweetwaterschools.org
Jimmy Canare jimmy.canare@sweetwaterschools.org
Andrea Giordano-Rink  Honors Andrea.Giordano-Rink@sweetwaterschools.org
Gonzalo  Castro  gonzalo.castro@sweetwaterschools.org
Miriam Rachelson Miriam.Rachelson@sweetwaterschools.org
English 12
Jimmy Canare jimmy.canare@sweetwaterschools.org
Yessica Gomez Yessica.Gomez@sweetwaterschools.org
Glafira Repeckyj Glafira.Repeckyj@sweetwaterschools.org
Advanced Placement
Vincent Ciolino  AP Literature vincent.ciolino@sweetwaterschools.org
Marko Gutierrez  AP Language marko.gutierrez@sweetwaterschools.org
Lindsey Sparks  AP Language Lindsey.Sparks@sweetwaterschools.org