Mathematics

The Math Department wants to make sure all  SYHS students are proficient in mathematics by the time they graduate high school. Our pursuit towards creating proficient students stems from our focus on teaching the California Common Core Standards. More information on the Common Core Standards can be found here  http://www.cde.ca.gov/be/st/ss/ .

The math department has a common grading scale in all math classes. Tests account for 60% of the student’s overall grade. Quizzes account for 15%. The district EOC (End of course, or final exam) accounts for 10%. Classwork and homework make up 15% of student’s grades.

There are many  interventions to help students raise their grades in mathematics. Attached you will find a schedule for Beyond the Bells, which are week long tutoring sessions that allow students to retake their chapter exam.  Preventions (test prep Saturdays) are also offered. For Pre-Calculus and AP Calculus please see your math teacher for tutoring dates and times.


SYH Math Department Instagram

Weekly Homework Zone Tutoring Schedule

Beyond the Bell – Test Preparation Preventions/Interventions

SATURDAY BUS STOPS school bus
BUSES will START picking students up at 8:10

1. Sipes Lane and Anella Road
2. Willow Elementary
3. Sunset and Alverson Rd
4. Beyer Blvd and Del Sur (Villanueva)

5. Avenida de la Madrid and Ave de la Cruz


Click the link below to meet the math department

Meet the Math Department

Luis Alejandro
luis.alejandro@sweetwaterschools.org


Aidan Connell
aidan.connell@sweetwaterschools.org


Angelica Valverde Barrera

Aceneth Foster
aceneth.foster@sweetwaterschools.org


Paul Garrison
paul.garrison@sweetwaterschools.org


Enrique Rosales 

Araceli Herandez-Oquendo
Mirna-Araceli.Hernandez-Oquendo@sweetwaterschools.org


Ainoha Hogan-Jimenez
ainoha.hogan-jimenez@sweetwaterschools.org


Cristina Lopez
Cristina.Lopez@sweetwaterschools.org


Kathleen Monegan
Kathleen.Monegan@sweetwaterschools.org


Mark Pyrz 

Shelly Poliska
shelly.poliska@sweetwaterschools.org


Maricruz Rosete
maricruz.rosete@sweetwaterschools.org


Sara Santamaria
sara.santamaria@sweetwaterschools.org


Andres Torres
andres.torres@sweetwaterschools.org